spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches TacSat-3
Posted: Wed, May 20, 2009, 6:53 AM ET (1053 GMT)
Minotaur 1 launch of TacSat-3 (OSC) A Minotaur rocket successfully launched an experimental military satellite and small NASA spacecraft Tuesday evening. The Orbital Sciences Corporation Minotaur 1 lifted off from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia at 7:55 pm EDT (2355 GMT) Tuesday, placing into orbit the TacSat-3 and PharmaSat satellites. The primary payload on the Minotaur is TacSat-3, a 400-kilogram satellite designed to test responsive space technologies, including a hyperspectral imager. Flying as a secondary payload is PharmaSat, a 5-kilogram satellite built by NASA's Ames Research Center to study the growth of yeast cells in space and the effectiveness of antifungal drugs. The launch had been scheduled for earlier this month but was postponed several times by poor weather and technical glitches.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list