spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle lands in California
Posted: Sun, May 24, 2009, 1:07 PM ET (1707 GMT)
STS-125: landing (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis landed safely in California on Sunday morning after weather kept the orbiter from returning to Florida. Atlantis touched down on runway 22 of Edwards Air Force Base at 11:39 am EDT (1539 GMT) Sunday, the first of two opportunities today to land the shuttle in California. NASA had hoped to land the shuttle in Florida, but weather conditions were too "dynamic" for shuttle managers to approve a landing there. Atlantis spent nearly 13 days in orbit on the STS-125 mission, successfully repairing and upgrading the Hubble Space Telescope during a series of five spacewalks.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 9
Congratulations, You Weren’t Crushed by Space Debris Today
New York Magazine — 8:51 am ET (1251 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list