spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MRO enters safe mode again
Posted: Fri, Jun 5, 2009, 6:55 AM ET (1055 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) spacecraft is in safe mode after its computer unexpectedly rebooted this week, project officials said Thursday. MRO's computer unexpectedly rebooted at 9:10 pm EDT Wednesday (0110 GMT Thursday), putting the spacecraft into a protective safe mode. The spacecraft is in good health overall and project officials said they expect normal observations to resume next week. The reboot is similar to one that took place in February, and in both cases project engineers believe that a cosmic ray hit triggered the reboot.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list