spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew performs spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 6, 2009, 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
ISS EVA 2009 June 5 (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station's crew performed a nearly five-hour spacewalk Friday to prepare the station for the installation of another Russian module. Station commander Gennady Padalka and flight engineer Mike Barratt started the spacewalk at 3:52 am EDT (0752 GMT), behind schedule due to high carbon dioxide readers in the Russian space suits. During the 4-hour, 54-minute minute spacewalk the two installed docking antennas, a docking target, and electrical connectors on the zenith port of the Zvezda service module. Those systems will be used for the docking of a new Russian module, the Mini-Research Module-2 (MRM2), scheduled for launch late this year. MRM2 is similar to the Pirs module already attached to the station and will provide an additional docking port for Soyuz and Progress spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list