spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches massive communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2, 2009, 3:57 AM ET (0757 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of TerreStar-1 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket launched the heaviest commercial communications satellite on Wednesday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 1:52 pm EDT (1752 GMT) Wednesday after a 99-minute delay caused by weather and placed the TerreStar-1 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit 26 minutes later. The satellite, the sole payload carried by the rocket, weighed 6,910 kilograms at launch, making it the heaviest commercial communications satellite ever launched. The Space Systems/Loral-built satellite will be used by TerreStar Networks at 111 degrees west in GEO to provide mobile communications services across North America at S-band wavelengths, integrated with terrestrial wireless networks.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list