spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle countdown begins
Posted: Thu, Jul 9, 2009, 6:40 AM ET (1040 GMT)
STS-127: logo (NASA) The countdown for Saturday evening's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour started Wednesday evening as managers keep an eye on an unsettled weather forecast. Endeavour is scheduled to launch at 7:39 pm EDT (2339 GMT) Saturday on STS-127, and the countdown for that launch started at 10 pm EDT Wednesday (0200 GMT Thursday). The major concern leading up to the launch is the weather, with initial forecasts calling for only a 40 percent chance of acceptable weather for the launch. The mission was scheduled to launch last month but was scrubbed twice when leaks developed in a gaseous hydrogen vent line. The problem was repaired and no leaks were detected during a tanking test last week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list