spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Aug 25, 2009, 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
STS-128: logo (NASA) Despite forecasts of good weather, thundershowers kept the space shuttle Discovery from launching as scheduled early Tuesday. Discovery was set to launch at 1:36 am EDT (0536 GMT) Tuesday from the Kennedy Space Center, but storms, with rain and lightning, forced controllers to postpone the launch. Until that time there had been no other major problems during launch preparations. The launch was rescheduled for 1:10 am EDT (0510 GMT) Tuesday, with a 70 percent chance of good weather; forecasts had predicted an 80 percent chance of acceptable weather for Tuesday's launch attempt. Discovery will bring various equipment ranks and other items to the station, including a treadmill. The mission will also swap one member of the station's six-person crew, replacing Tim Kopra with Nicole Stott.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list