spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery launched to ISS
Posted: Sat, Aug 29, 2009, 9:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)
STS-128: launch (NASA/KSC) Overcoming technical glitches and poor weather, the space shuttle Discovery lifted off Friday night on a mission to the International Space Station. Discovery launched at 11:59 pm EDT Friday (0359 GMT Saturday) after a countdown free of technical or weather issues. Both had caused scrubs of previous launch attempts earlier in the week, with a thundershower scrubbing a launch attempt in the early morning hours Tuesday and a valve issue then postponing the launch until Friday night. The 13-day STS-128 mission will deliver cargo to the ISS ranging from scientific equipment to a treadmill and also features three spacewalks to perform work outside the station. The shuttle's seven-person crew includes one astronaut, Nicole Stott, who will remain on the station; current ISS crewmember Tim Kopra will return to Earth on the shuttle. Discovery is scheduled to dock with the ISS on Sunday evening.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links
Sunday, December 4
Key House Republicans Urge Priority for Asteroid Search
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 7:51 am ET (1251 GMT)
Shenzhou-14 return capsule lands safely
Xinhua — 7:47 am ET (1247 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list