spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches WorldView-2
Posted: Fri, Oct 9, 2009, 5:28 AM ET (0928 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of WorldView 2 (ULA) A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched a high-resolution commercial remote sensing satellite on Thursday. The Delta 2 7920 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 2:51 pm EDT (1851 GMT) and placed the WorldView-2 satellite into Sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft, built by Ball Aerospace for DigitalGlobe, will provide panchromatic images with a resolution of 46 centimeters and multispectral imagery at a resolution of 1.8 meters. The company said the spacecraft should start providing commercial imagery in about 90 days, joining the company's QuickBird and WorldView-1 spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list