spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


HTV undocks from ISS
Posted: Sun, Nov 1, 2009, 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
HTV undocking from ISS (NASA) The first Japanese cargo spacecraft to visit the ISS undocked on Friday in preparation to reenter. The H-2 Transfer Vehicle (HTV) was removed from its docking port on the station's Harmony node by the station's robotic arm at 1:30 pm EDT (1730 GMT) Friday, and then fired its thrusters to move away from the station. The docking was delayed by one orbit to avoid a piece of space debris that could have posed a threat to the HTV after undocking. The cargo spacecraft, filled with garbage from the station, will perform a destructive reentry over the Pacific Ocean on Sunday. Japan's space agency JAXA launched the HTV on September 10 on an upgraded version of its H-2 rocket, carrying about four and a half tons of supplies for the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list