spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


HTV undocks from ISS
Posted: Sun, Nov 1, 2009, 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
HTV undocking from ISS (NASA) The first Japanese cargo spacecraft to visit the ISS undocked on Friday in preparation to reenter. The H-2 Transfer Vehicle (HTV) was removed from its docking port on the station's Harmony node by the station's robotic arm at 1:30 pm EDT (1730 GMT) Friday, and then fired its thrusters to move away from the station. The docking was delayed by one orbit to avoid a piece of space debris that could have posed a threat to the HTV after undocking. The cargo spacecraft, filled with garbage from the station, will perform a destructive reentry over the Pacific Ocean on Sunday. Japan's space agency JAXA launched the HTV on September 10 on an upgraded version of its H-2 rocket, carrying about four and a half tons of supplies for the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
OneWeb files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

SpaceX wins Gateway cargo contract
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-6
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 2


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list