spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches Intelsat 14
Posted: Mon, Nov 23, 2009, 6:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of Intelsat 14 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a new Intelsat communications satellite early Monday. The Atlas 5 431 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 1:55 am EST (0655 GMT) and deployed the Intelsat 14 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit nearly two hours later. The launch was postponed by about an hour because of upper level wind conditions; a technical glitch scrubbed a launch attempt earlier in the month. The satellite, built by Space Systems/Loral, weighed approximately 5,600 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of 40 C-band and 22 Ku-band transponders. The spacecraft will operate from 45 degrees west in GEO, replacing the existing Intelsat 1R satellite that serves customers in Europe, Africa, and Latin America. The spacecraft also carries an experimental Internet router called IRIS, developed by Cisco for the Defense Department.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
House bill offers flat funding for NASA
Posted: Fri, Jul 10 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

Israel launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Fri, Jul 10 5:55 PM ET (2155 GMT)

Long March 2D launches experimental satellite
Posted: Fri, Jul 10 5:54 PM ET (2154 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 13
Australia should beware of space industry subsidies
Australian Strategic Policy Institute — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
UAE attempts to become fifth ever nation to reach Mars
The Daily Telegraph — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list