spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta launches military communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 6, 2009, 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of WGS 3 (ULA) A Delta 4 launched the third in a new series of military communications satellites on Saturday night. The Delta 4 Medium=Plus (5,4) lifted off from Space Launch Complex-37 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 8:47 pm EST Saturday (0147 GMT Sunday) and placed the Wideband Global SATCOM 3 (WGS 3) satellite into a supersynchronous transfer orbit 40 minutes later. The launch took place at the end of a 85-minute launch window as launch managers waited for upper level winds to subside to acceptable levels. The satellite, built by Boeing and weighing about 6,000 kilograms, is the third of six planned WGS satellites that will provide military communications services; it will operate from 12 degrees west in GEO. The launch was the first for this variant of the Delta 4, using a five-meter payload fairing and four solid rocket strapon boosters.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Monday, August 15


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list