spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches navigation satellites
Posted: Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 1:55 PM ET (1855 GMT)
Proton M launch of GLONASS satellites Dec 09 (Roskosmos) A Proton rocket launched three GLONASS navigation satellites early Monday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:38 am EST (1038 GMT) and placed the three GLONASS satellites into medium Earth orbits about three and a half hours later. The three spacecraft will permit the system to maintain at least 18 active satellites, enough to provide navigation coverage for Russia; global coverage requires 24 satellites. Russia has slowly been reconstituting the GLONASS system, similar to America's GPS system, since financial problems in the 1990s caused the system to fall into disrepair.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list