spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches navigation satellites
Posted: Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 1:55 PM ET (1855 GMT)
Proton M launch of GLONASS satellites Dec 09 (Roskosmos) A Proton rocket launched three GLONASS navigation satellites early Monday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:38 am EST (1038 GMT) and placed the three GLONASS satellites into medium Earth orbits about three and a half hours later. The three spacecraft will permit the system to maintain at least 18 active satellites, enough to provide navigation coverage for Russia; global coverage requires 24 satellites. Russia has slowly been reconstituting the GLONASS system, similar to America's GPS system, since financial problems in the 1990s caused the system to fall into disrepair.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list