spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds delay SDO launch
Posted: Thu, Feb 11, 2010, 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
SDO illustration (NASA/GSFC) High winds Wednesday delayed the launch of NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) spacecraft for at least a day. An Atlas 5 was scheduled to launch SDO from Cape Canaveral, but the launch was scrubbed after winds remained above limits. The launch has been rescheduled for 10:23 am EST (1523 GMT) Thursday, with winds still a concern. SDO is a five-year mission to observe the Sun and better understand solar storms and other activity as the Sun goes through its next peak in its 11-year cycle of activity.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list