spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Intelsat spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Feb 12, 2010, 8:24 PM ET (0124 GMT)
Proton launch of Intelsat 16 (ILS) A Proton rocket launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Friday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:39 pm EST Thursday (0039 GMT, 6:39 am local time Friday) and placed the Intelsat 16 satellite into a "near geostationary orbit" nine and a half hours later. The spacecraft, an Orbital Sciences Star 2.4 model, weighed 2,069 kilograms and carries 24 Ku-band transponders. The spacecraft will operate at 58 degrees west in GEO to provide direct-to-home television programming for Mexico and Brazil. The launch was the first commercial Proton mission of 2010 and the second Proton launch in two weeks, after a Russian government mission in late January.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 16
NM delegation urges Space Force to utilize state assets
Albuquerque Journal — 8:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Results of Starliner Review Expected in February
Air Force Magazine — 8:14 am ET (1314 GMT)
Nasa reaches for the stars with nuclear-propelled spacecraft
The Daily Telegraph — 8:12 am ET (1312 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list