spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tranquility module added to ISS
Posted: Fri, Feb 12, 2010, 8:41 PM ET (0141 GMT)
STS-130: EVA #1 (NASA) Spacewalking astronauts help install a new module to the International Space Station in the early morning hours of Friday. Bob Behnken and Nick Patrick spent six and a half hours outside the ISS on a spacewalk that started at 9:17 pm EST Thursday (0217 GMT Friday). The two attached data and heater cables between the new Tranquility module and the existing Unity module after the station's robotic arm pulled the module out of the shuttle Endeavour's cargo bay and moved it into position on Unity. Internal outfitting of the new module will begin Friday night. Also on Friday shuttle managers cleared Endeavour for a return to Earth later this month, concluding that several defects spotted on the shuttle's exterior did not pose a hazard to the orbiter and its crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX performs Crew Dragon in-flight abort test
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)

Arianespace launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)

Eutelsat loses more than half of capacity on new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:42 PM ET (0142 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, January 21


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list