spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Second STS-130 completed, mission extended
Posted: Sun, Feb 14, 2010, 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)
STS-130: EVA #2 (NASA) Two astronauts completed the second of three EVAs for the STS-130 mission to the International Space Station early Sunday, outfitting the exterior of the station's newest module. Robert Behnken and Nicholas Patrick spent five hours and 54 minutes outside the ISS, wrapping up the spacewalk slight earlier than planned at 3:14 am EST (0814 GMT). The two connected ammonia coolant hoses for the new Tranquility module, installed handrails on the exterior of the module, and also prepared the Earth-facing port of the module for the installation of the cupola. The EVA was shortened slightly to test for any possible contamination of Patrick's spacesuit after a small amount of ammonia leaked out during the connection of one the lines; no contamination was detected. Prior to the spacewalk mission managers approved a one-day extension of the mission to allow the sTS-130 crew more time to carry out work at the station. Endeavour is now scheduled to land at 10:16 pm EST on February 21 (0316 GMT February 22).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list