spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches three GLONASS satellites
Posted: Tue, Mar 2, 2010, 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
Proton launch of 3 GLONASS satellites on 10 Mar 2 (Roskosmos) A Proton rocket placed three new Russian navigation satellites into orbit early Tuesday. The Proton-M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:19 pm EST Monday (2219 GMT Monday, 3:19 am local time Tuesday) and released three GLONASS satellites into their planned transfer orbits about three and a half hours later. The three satellites will join an existing constellation of 18 active GLONASS satellites, providing navigation services similar to the US GPS system. A total of 24 satellites are needed to provide global coverage, while 18 are sufficient to provide coverage across Russia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list