spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Upgraded GSLV launch fails
Posted: Fri, Apr 16, 2010, 10:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
GSLV launch of INSAT-4CR (ISRO) The first launch of a new version of India's largest launch vehicle, featuring an indigenously-developed upper stage, failed on Thursday when the upper stage tumbled out of control. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) lifted off on schedule at 6:57 am EDT (1057 GMT) Thursday from the Indian launch site at the Satish Dhawan Space Center on India's eastern coast. The first two stages of the rocket performed normally, but problems developed with the new upper stage, which tumbled out of control and eventually splashed down in the ocean. In a statement the Indian space agency ISRO said it wasn't certain if the upper stage engine ignited. That engine, powered by liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen, was developed in India and was flying for the first time, replacing a Russian engine.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list