spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 25, 2010, 11:42 AM ET (1542 GMT)
Proton launch of SES-1 (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched a US-built communications satellite on Saturday. The Proton-M rocket lifted off at 7:19 am EDT (1119 GMT, 5:19 pm local time) Saturday from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan and placed the SES-1 satellite into geosynchronous orbit nine hours later. The satellite, an Orbital Sciences Star-2.4 model, weighed about 2,550 kilograms and carries 24 C-band and 24 Ku-band transponders. It will be used by SES World Skies to provide communications services from 101 degrees west, replacing the AMC-2 and AMC-4 satellites. The launch was the third commercial Proton mission this year and the fifth overall Proton launch of the year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
LauncherOne launches seven cubesats
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)


Indian government selects new head of ISRO
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:43 AM ET (1543 GMT)

news links
Sunday, January 16
Cadets connect with astronaut aboard the International Space Station
Colorado Springs Gazette — 8:39 am ET (1339 GMT)
Former spaceport official finds attorney for whistleblower suit
Santa Fe New Mexican — 8:33 am ET (1333 GMT)
Pebbles Before Mountains
NASA/JPL — 8:29 am ET (1329 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list