spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kosmos rocket launches military satellite
Posted: Wed, Apr 28, 2010, 7:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
Kosmos 3M launch (ESA) A Russian Kosmos rocket placed a military navigation satellite into orbit on Tuesday. The Kosmos-3M rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:08 pm EDT Monday (0208 GMT, 6:08 am Moscow time Tuesday) and placed the Kosmos 2463 satellite into low Earth orbit. The purpose of the satellite wasn't identified in Russian media reports, but is believed to be a Parus-class military navigation satellite. The launch is expected to be one of the last for the Kosmos-3M booster, which dates back to the 1960s, before it is retired by the end of this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list