spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, May 2, 2010, 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
The International Space Station crew performed a manual docking of a Progress cargo spacecraft on Saturday after an automated system failed. The Progress M-05M spacecraft, designated Progress 37 by NASA, docked with the Pirs module of the ISS at 2:30 pm EDT (1830 GMT) Saturday. The docking is normally performed in an automated mode, but the station's commander, Oleg Kotov, took over on final approach after the Progress's automated Kurs system appeared to lose attitude orientation after a thruster firing. The docking took place without incident after the switch to manual control. The spacecraft, launched Wednesday from Baikonur, carries over 2.5 tons of supplies and equipment for the station and its six-person crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 22
Editorial: NASA launches deep into space
San Antonio Express-News — 3:24 am ET (0724 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list