spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian module added to station
Posted: Wed, May 19, 2010, 6:23 AM ET (1023 GMT)
STS-132: Rassvet added to station (NASA) Astronauts on the International Space Station added a new module to the orbiting outpost on Tuesday. Astronauts used the robotic arms on the station and the shuttle Atlantis to move the Mini-Research Module 1 from the shuttle's cargo bay to the Earth-facing port on the Zarya module, locking it into place at 8:50 am EDT (1250 GMT). The Russian-built module, also known as Rassvet, or "Dawn", was launched containing nine tons of cargo for the station. The module will later be outfitted as a lab space and will support a separate Russian lab module scheduled for launch in 2012. Astronauts Michael Good and Steve Bowen will perform the second spacewalk of the STS-132 mission on Wednesday, replacing several batteries mounted on the station's truss.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list