spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rockot launches Japanese satellite
Posted: Wed, Jun 2, 2010, 1:54 PM ET (1754 GMT)
Rockot launch of SERVIS-2 (Eurockot) A Russian rocket placed a Japanese technology demonstration satellite into low Earth orbit early Wednesday. The Rockot vehicle lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 9:59 pm EDT Tuesday (0159 GMT Wednesday) and placed the SERVIS-2 satellite into a 1,200-kilometer Sun-synchronous orbit. SERVIS (Space Environment Reliability Verification Integrated System) 2 is the second in a series of spacecraft built by the Institute for Unmanned Space Experiment Free Flyer (USEF) in Japan to test the performance of commercial off-the-shelf technologies in the space environment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list