spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX declares Falcon 9 launch a success
Posted: Fri, Jun 4, 2010, 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch on first mission (SpaceX) Falcon 9, a new launch vehicle developed by entrepreneurial space company SpaceX, successfully lifted off Friday afternoon and placed a test payload into orbit. The rocket lifted off at 2:45 pm EDT (1845 GMT) and placed a demonstration model of the Dragon spacecraft into low Earth orbit, according to the company; specifics about the orbit altitude and inclination were not immediately available. A previous attempt was scrubbed just seconds before liftoff at 1:30 pm EDT (1730 GMT) because of an engine parameter problem. Prior to the launch SpaceX founder Elon Musk predicted a 70-80% chance of a successful launch, adding that he hoped to at least demonstrate both stages of the rocket during this test.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA and ESA finalize ExoMars Rosalind Franklin agreement
Posted: Sun, May 19 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)

Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)

BEpiColombo Mercury mission suffers thruster problem
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 23
San Antonio leaders working to land new Space Force cyber unit in city
San Antonio Express-News — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list