spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches European satellites
Posted: Wed, Jun 16, 2010, 7:11 AM ET (1111 GMT)
Dnepr launch of Prisma and Picard (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket successfully launched a group of small French and Swedish satellites on Tuesday. The Dnepr vehicle lifted off from the Yazny launch base in southern Russia on schedule at 10:42 am EDT (1442 GMT) and placed into a Sun-synchronous orbit the Picard and Prisma satellites. Picard is a satellite developed by the French space agency CNES to study the Sun, including measuring variations in activity. The Prisma mission, by the Swedish Space Corporation, features two satellites launched together; they will separate to demonstrate autonomous formation flying and rendezvous technologies. The Dnepr also carried a Russian avionics experiment that remained attached to the rocket's upper stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list