spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Israel launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Wed, Jun 23, 2010, 7:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
Shavit launch of Ofek 9 (IAI) An Israeli rocket launched a new reconnaissance satellite that may be devoted to keeping an eye on Iran. The Shavit rocket lifted off from the Palmachim air base on the Mediterranean coast of Israel at about 3 pm EDT (1900 GMT) Tuesday and placed the Ofek 9 satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite is the latest in a series of small imaging satellites operated by the Israeli military and is a slight improvement over the existing Ofek 7 satellite. Officials said that the new satellite will provide greater flexibility in Earth observations, particularly of Iran.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list