spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS on second attempt
Posted: Mon, Jul 5, 2010, 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
Progress M-06M view of ISS during docking (NASA) A Progress cargo spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station on Sunday, two days after its originally-scheduled docking was aborted because of a technical problem. The Progress M-06M spacecraft (designated Progress 38 by NASA) docked with the aft port of the Zvezda module at 12:17 pm EDT (1617 GMT) using its automated Kurs system. The Progress was scheduled to dock Friday but the docking was aborted when telemetry between the Progress and station was interrupted; the Progress passed 3 kilometers from the station and drifted farther away until a series of maneuvered by the Progress put it on course for a Sunday docking. Engineers believe the most likely cause for the telemetry loss was interference created by the activation of a TV transmitter on the Progress used to relay video to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list