spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Sun, Aug 1, 2010, 10:38 AM ET (1438 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of 5th Compass satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket launched the latest in a series of Chinese navigation satellites on Sunday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 5:30 pm EDT Saturday (2130 GMT Saturday, 5:30 am Beijing time Sunday) and placed the Beidou satellite into orbit. The satellite is the fifth in the Beidou-2, or Compass, satellite navigation system, and also the first intended to operate from an inclined geosynchronous orbit; previous spacecraft had been in standard geosynchronous orbits. China plans to eventually deploy a full-fledged global satellite navigation system similar to the American GPS system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list