spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA plans two spacewalks to fix ISS cooling system
Posted: Tue, Aug 3, 2010, 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) NASA is proceeding with plans to perform two spacewalks starting late this week to repair a cooling system that malfunctioned over the weekend. ISS astronauts Douglas Wheelock and Tracy Caldwell Dyson will perform two EVAs, one Friday morning and the other the following Monday, to remove a faulty ammonia pump and replace it with a spare unit. The pump shut down Saturday night, forcing station controllers to shut down a number of systems on the station to reduce the station's electrical load and thus the amount of heat it generates. The pump unit will be replaced on the first spacewalk, with the second used to make electrical and coolant line connections to the new pump unit. The two EVAs replace one already scheduled for late this week to perform routine maintenance on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
North Sea weather technology firm wins six figure space launch deal
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 7:18 am ET (1218 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list