spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 5, 2010, 2:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of SinoSat-6 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket successfully launched a Chinese communications satellite early Sunday. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:14 pm EDT Saturday (1614 GMT Saturday, 12:14 am Beijing time Sunday) and placed the SinoSat-6 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit 26 minutes later. The satellite, which will eventually be located at 126.4 degrees east in GEO, weighted about 5,100 kilograms at launch and carries 24 C-band, 8-Ku band, and 1 S-band transponders. China Satcome plans to use the satellite to provide Television and radio broadcasting services for China.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list