spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches space surveillance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 26, 2010, 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
Minotaur 4 launch of SBSS (Orbital) A Minotaur rocket successfully launched a new satellite for the Air Force that will track satellites and orbital debris. The Minotaur 4 rocket lifted off from Space Launch Complex-8 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 9:41 pm PDT Saturday (12:41 am, 0441 GMT Sunday) and placed the Space Based Space Surveillance (SBSS) Pathfinder satellite into orbit. The satellite will be used to track objects in Earth orbit and provide those observations to the US Space Surveillance Network, which will incorporate them into analyses to look for potential collisions among objects. The launch was the first orbital mission for the Minotaur 4, which utilizes solid rocket motors from retired Peacekeeper ICBMs; the Minotaur 4 made its debut earlier this year with a suborbital mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Maxar to sell MDA
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)

Long March 5 returns to flight
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:43 PM ET (1843 GMT)

Rockot performs final launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:41 PM ET (1841 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 20
Space: Not the final frontier, but the new Wild West
POLITICO — 6:57 am ET (1157 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list