spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Chang'e-2 lunar mission
Posted: Fri, Oct 1, 2010, 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
Long March 3C launch of Chang'e-2 (Xinhua) China launched its second lunar mission, Chang'e-2, on Friday. The Long March 3C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center in southwestern China at 7:00 am EDT (1200 GMT, 7:00 pm Beijing time) Friday and placed the Chang'e-2 spacecraft on a lunar transfer orbit a short time later. The spacecraft is expected to enter lunar orbit in just under five days. The spacecraft is China's second lunar mission, after Chang'e-1, also a lunar orbiter, launched in 2007. Chang'e-2 will provide images at a higher resolution than the earlier mission as well as additional instrumentation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport cup promotes region, launches futures
El Paso Inc. — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list