spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 8, 2010, 7:09 AM ET (1109 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-01M launch (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft launched early Friday carrying three new ISS crew members. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:10 pm EDT Thursday (2310 GMT Thursday, 5:10 am local time Friday) and placed the Soyuz TMA-01M spacecraft into orbit. On board the spacecraft are Russian cosmonauts Alexander Kaleri and Oleg Skripochka and American astronaut Scott Kelly. The Soyuz, the first of a new, modernized generation of spacecraft, is scheduled to dock with the ISS Saturday evening. Kaleri, Kelly, and Skripochka will joint the current ISS crew of Doug Wheelock, Shannon Walker, and Fyodor Yurchikhin. Among those attending the launch was Anna Chapman, who gained notoriety this summer when she was deported from the US on allegations of espionage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list