spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA confirms Nov. 1 launch for Discovery
Posted: Tue, Oct 26, 2010, 8:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
STS-133: logo (NASA) NASA shuttle managers on Monday officially approved the November 1 launch date for the space shuttle Discovery on its final scheduled mission. Discovery is scheduled to lift off on the STS-133 mission at 4:40 pm EDT (2040 GMT) November 1, a date approved by shuttle managers after workers successfully completed replacement of seals in a leaking fuel line over the weekend. The six-person crew will install the Permanent Multipurpose Module, the last US component of the ISS, to the station; the module is carrying a variety of equipment, including Robonaut 2, a humanoid robot. The mission is the last scheduled launch of Discovery, with only one other shuttle mission currently on the manifest, although a second may be added next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport cup promotes region, launches futures
El Paso Inc. — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list