spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Fri, Oct 29, 2010, 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of Eutelsat W3B and BSAT-3b (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched a pair of communications satellites for European and Japanese customers. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from the spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, at 5:51 pm EDT (2151 GMT) Thursday and placed the Eutelsat W3B and BSAT-3b satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbit about a half-hour later. Eutelsat W3B, a Thales Alenia Space Spacebus 4000 C3 model, weighed 5,400 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of Ku-band transponders; it will operate from 16 degrees east in GEO. BSAT-3b is a Lockheed Martin Commercial Space Systems A2100A model weighing 2,060 kilograms at launch and carrying Ku-band transponders; it will operate from 110 degrees east in GEO providing direct-to-home television transmissions for Japanese firm Broadcasting Satellite System Corporation. The launch was the fourth Ariane 5 mission, of six currently scheduled, in 2010.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list