spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GLONASS satellites lost in Proton launch failure
Posted: Sun, Dec 5, 2010, 12:32 PM ET (1732 GMT)
Proton launch of Glonass satellites on 2010 Dec 5 (Roskosmos) Three GLONASS navigation satellites launched Sunday on a Proton rocket reentered the atmosphere and were lost. The Proton rocket, using a Block DM upper stage, lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:25 am EST (1025 GMT) Sunday. The launch initially went as planned, with the upper stage and three satellites separating from the Proton ten minutes later. However, Russian officials said several hours later the rocket deviated from its course by up to eight degrees. The upper stage and satellites reentered the atmosphere over the Pacific Ocean, 1,500 kilometers northwest of Honolulu. The three GLONASS satellites would have been used to make the Russian satellite navigation system fully operational globally.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list