spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GLONASS satellites lost in Proton launch failure
Posted: Sun, Dec 5, 2010, 12:32 PM ET (1732 GMT)
Proton launch of Glonass satellites on 2010 Dec 5 (Roskosmos) Three GLONASS navigation satellites launched Sunday on a Proton rocket reentered the atmosphere and were lost. The Proton rocket, using a Block DM upper stage, lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:25 am EST (1025 GMT) Sunday. The launch initially went as planned, with the upper stage and three satellites separating from the Proton ten minutes later. However, Russian officials said several hours later the rocket deviated from its course by up to eight degrees. The upper stage and satellites reentered the atmosphere over the Pacific Ocean, 1,500 kilometers northwest of Honolulu. The three GLONASS satellites would have been used to make the Russian satellite navigation system fully operational globally.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list