spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon capsule returns safely
Posted: Wed, Dec 8, 2010, 9:38 PM ET (0238 GMT)
Dragon capsule descends towards splashdown on maiden flight (SpaceX) SpaceX's Dragon spacecraft, launched for the first time Wednesday morning, parachuted to a planned splashdown in the Pacific Ocean Wednesday afternoon, capping what company officials said was a flawless demonstration mission. The Dragon spacecraft made two orbits of the Earth before reentering, splashing down almost exactly on target shortly after 2 pm EST (1900 GMT). Company officials said the spacecraft performed as planned in orbit, and all aspects of the flight, from launch to reentry and landing, went as planned. Dragon is the first commercially-developed spacecraft to successfully return to Earth. SpaceX is developing Dragon to transport cargo, and potentially crews, to the International Space Station. SpaceX said a second Dragon test flight, where the spacecraft wold approach and perhaps even dock with, the ISS, is planned for next summer.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links
Sunday, December 4
Rocket Lab’s Electron rocket set for Wallops launch
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 8:06 am ET (1306 GMT)
Key House Republicans Urge Priority for Asteroid Search
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 7:51 am ET (1251 GMT)
Shenzhou-14 return capsule lands safely
Xinhua — 7:47 am ET (1247 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list