spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon capsule returns safely
Posted: Wed, Dec 8, 2010, 9:38 PM ET (0238 GMT)
Dragon capsule descends towards splashdown on maiden flight (SpaceX) SpaceX's Dragon spacecraft, launched for the first time Wednesday morning, parachuted to a planned splashdown in the Pacific Ocean Wednesday afternoon, capping what company officials said was a flawless demonstration mission. The Dragon spacecraft made two orbits of the Earth before reentering, splashing down almost exactly on target shortly after 2 pm EST (1900 GMT). Company officials said the spacecraft performed as planned in orbit, and all aspects of the flight, from launch to reentry and landing, went as planned. Dragon is the first commercially-developed spacecraft to successfully return to Earth. SpaceX is developing Dragon to transport cargo, and potentially crews, to the International Space Station. SpaceX said a second Dragon test flight, where the spacecraft wold approach and perhaps even dock with, the ISS, is planned for next summer.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list