spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GSLV launch fails
Posted: Sat, Dec 25, 2010, 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
GSLV F06 launch failure (The Hindu) In another major setback for the Indian space agency ISRO, its Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) failed shortly after launch Saturday. The GSLV lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 5:34 am EST (1034 GMT, 4:34 pm local time) Saturday, carrying the GSAT-5P communications satellite. However, about 45 seconds after liftoff the rocket veered off course and was destroyed. ISRO officials said that it lost control of one of the rocket's four strap-on boosters, leading to the loss of the vehicle. The failure is the second consecutive one for the GSLV, India's largest launch vehicle, after an indigenously-built upper stage failed on an April launch. The GSAT-5P communications satellite was intended to provide TV and other communications services for India using a payload of C-band transponders.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX performs Crew Dragon in-flight abort test
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)

Arianespace launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)

Eutelsat loses more than half of capacity on new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:42 PM ET (0142 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, January 21


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list