spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane closes out 2010 by launching two satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 30, 2010, 8:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Hispasat 1E and Koreasat 6 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 successfully launched two communications satellites Wednesday in the final scheduled launch of 2010. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 4:27 pm EST (2127 GMT) Wednesday and placed the Hispasat 1E and Koreasat 6 satellites into geosynchronous orbit about a half-hour later. Hispasat 1E, a Space Systems/Loral 1300 model, weighed 5,320 kilograms at launch and carries 53 Ku-band transponders. It will be used by Spanish operator Hispasat to provide video and data services over portions of Europe and the Americas from 30 degrees west in GEO. Koreasat 6, provided by Thales Alenia Space using a Star-2 bus from Orbital Sciences, weighed 2,850 kilograms at launch and carries 30 Ku-band transponders. It will be used by South Korean company KT Corporation to provide communications services from 116 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the sixth Ariane 5 mission of the year, and also the last launch planned for 2010.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list