spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 Heavy launches classified satellite
Posted: Fri, Jan 21, 2011, 7:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
Delta 4 Heavy launch of NROL-49 (ULA) A Delta 4 Heavy successfully launched a classified satellite Thursday afternoon from California. The Delta 4 Heavy lifted off at 4:10 pm EST (2110 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 6 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on a mission for the National Reconnaissance Office designated NROL-49. Officials released few details about the mission but declared the launch a success; analysts speculate that the satellite is a new imaging reconnaissance satellite. The launch was the second Delta 4 Heavy launch in two months, and the first launch of the largest US expendable rocket from the California launch complex.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 22
Rocket Lab to launch ‘sustainable space’ demonstration satellite
Long Beach (CA) Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)
Second pad work resumes, space junk clean up announced
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list