spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches ATV
Posted: Thu, Feb 17, 2011, 8:08 AM ET (1308 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of ATV-2 (Arianespace) After a one day delay, an Ariane 5 successfully launched a European cargo spacecraft to the ISS on Wednesday. The Ariane 5 ES lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:50 pm EST (2150 GMT) Wednesday and placed the Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) 2, also known as Johannes Kepler, into orbit. The launch had been scheduled for Tuesday but was postponed by a measurement anomaly with a propellant tank on the rocket's core stage. The ATV-2, carrying over seven metric tons of payload for the station, is scheduled to dock with the ISS on February 24. The one-day delay in the ATV launch could postpone the launch of the STS-133 shuttle mission, currently scheduled for the 24th; a decision on the launch date is scheduled for Friday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list