spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Glory launch scrubbed
Updated: Wed, Feb 23, 2011, 9:20 PM ET (0220 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Feb 23, 2011, 7:52 AM ET (1252 GMT)
Glory illustration (NASA) The launch of a NASA earth sciences satellite on a Taurus XL was scrubbed early Wednesday because of a technical glitch. The Taurus XL was scheduled to launch at 5:09 am EST (1009 GMT) Wednesday and place NASA's Glory satellite into Sun-synchronous orbit. However, the countdown was stopped several minutes before launch because of an issue with a control console that was providing erroneous readings that controllers were not able to understand and resolve in time for the launch. NASA announced later Wednesday that the next launch attempt would be at the same time on Friday. Once in orbit, Glory will track aerosols in the atmosphere as well as solar irradiance to understand how they influence the Earth's climate.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list