spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV docks with ISS
Posted: Thu, Feb 24, 2011, 1:57 PM ET (1857 GMT)
ATV-2 docks with ISS (ESA) A European cargo spacecraft docked with the ISS Thursday morning, clearing the way for the launch later Thursday of the space shuttle. The Automated Transfer Vehicle 2 (ATV-2), also known as Johannes Kepler, docked with the aft port of the Zvezda module of the ISS at 11:08 am EST (1608 GMT) Thursday, nearly eight days after its launch from French Guiana. The spacecraft is carrying about seven tonnes of supplies, including propellant to reboost the station's orbit. The successful docking will allow NASA to proceed with the launch Thursday afternoon of the shuttle Discovery on mission STS-133: had the docking failed for some reason, the shuttle launch might have been postponed to devote communications and other resources to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 19
Ready to buy a trip to orbit from Elon Musk?
Quartz — 6:36 am ET (1136 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list