spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Second STS-133 spacewalk completed
Posted: Thu, Mar 3, 2011, 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
STS-133: EVA #2 (NASA) Two astronauts spent over six hours outside the International Space Station on Wednesday on the second and final spacewalk of the STS-133 mission. Steve Bowen and Alvin Drew started their six-hour, 14-minute EVA at 10:42 am EST (1542 GMT), carrying out a variety of tasks outside the station. The two vented the remaining ammonia from a malfunctioning pump module moved during the mission's first spacewalk, and also performed maintenance on the Canadian Dextre robotic manipulator, among other tasks. The spacewalk's only problem came towards the end, when Drew's helmet light came loose.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list