spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Glory launch fails
Posted: Fri, Mar 4, 2011, 7:28 AM ET (1228 GMT)
Glory illustration (NASA) A NASA climate satellite failed to each orbit early Friday in a launch failure eerily similar to one just over two years ago. A Taurus XL rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:09 am EST (1009 GMT) carrying NASA's Glory earth sciences spacecraft. However, several minutes after liftoff launch controllers declared a contingency when they received telemetry that the rocket's payload fairing failed to separate as planned. The additional mass of the payload fairing kept the rocket from reaching orbit. The failure appears very similar to the loss of NASA's Orbiting Carbon Observatory satellite in February 2009, also lost when the payload fairing of the Taurus XL launching it failed to separate after launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list